ICC’s practical nursing students awarded their caps and pins

SPINDALE – Twenty-seven Isothermal Community College practical nursing students were awarded their caps and pins at a special ceremony recently.
The Capping and Pinning Ceremony, held at The Foundation, is the traditional graduation event for the students in the Practical Nursing program.

The graduates of the 2018 class are Baylee Elizabeth Boone, Kevin Edward Brady, Elrica Brown, Amanda Abdow Clark, Cheyanne Rachelle Faulkner, Ricky E. Hentz, Mandi Jean Howe, Bianca Jordan, Sarah Kanz, Emily Lynn Klanert, Tiffany Leigh McEntyre, Lorana Martinez, Andrew Moore, Cassie Morton, Keely Nelson Moss, Christina Renea Nalley, Betsy Rife, Brenda Carolyn Roman, Brianna Ross, Kailey Russell, Maliyah Shade, Ashlie Shearer, Maggie Shelly, Regina Lynn Smith, Mary Champion Taylor, Jessica Harlie Weaver and Wendy Triplett Wilson.

After marching in to the processional, “Pomp and Circumstance” and hearing an invocation by Kailey Russell, the new nurses were welcomed by Ava Yamouti, Isothermal’s dean of Health & Public Services. Dr. Kim Amos, director of the Foothills Nursing Consortium, delivered the commencement address, followed by special music from Allen McEntyre. Throughout the remainder of the ceremony, Dr. Amos was assisted by Carole Kohler, MSN RN, and Erin Maietta, BSN RN. After the presentation of roses and lamps, there was a candle lighting ceremony and Russell gave the benediction.
The class officers were also recognized. They are: Andrew Moore, president; Betsy Rife, vice president; and Sarah Kanz, secretary.