Super blue blood moon lunar eclipse this morning

A super blue blood moon will be visible across huge swathes of the planet today. Today’s rare eclipse  combines three separate lunar phenomena: A supermoon, a blue moon and a blood moon.

Viewers can expect to see a blue moon – the second full moon in a calendar month – orbiting closer to the Earth than normal, making it seem up to 14 percent larger and 30 percent brighter in the sky.

If that wasn’t enough there will also be a total lunar eclipse – often described as a blood moon because of the way the moon turns a bright coppery red.

The eclipse is expected to reach totality at about 4.50am PT on the west coast of the US, where skywatchers will get some of the best views. In the eastern states, the moon sets at 6:58 a.m. and will only be in partial eclipse. The eclipse begins at 5:51 AM ET, as the Moon is about to set in the western sky, and the sky is getting lighter in the east.

NASA has dubbed the spectacle as a “lunar trifecta”. The Penumbral phase of the eclipse will begin today at 5.51am EST (10.51am GMT), and you can follow NASA’s live coverage starting from 5.30am EST (10.30am GMT).