PTK honor society inducts new members

 Isothermal’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted new members this month. They are Rachel Hollifield (left to right), Sarah Haney, Lydia Kercher and Sarah Huffman. Chelsea Hudgens is not pictured.


SPINDALE  – Five students at Isothermal Community College were inducted into the Sigma Chi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa last week.

Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society for two-year college students. The organization provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in activities that involve four hallmarks: scholarship, fellowship, leadership and service.

In order to qualify for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students are required to have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 and to have completed 12 hours of associate-level course study.

The Isothermal students inducted into the college’s Sigma Chi Chapter of PTK for Spring 2017 are Sarah Haney, Rachel Hollifield, Chelsea Hudgens, Sarah Huffman and Lydia Kercher.

Dr. Kathy Ackerman, Isothermal’s dean of Arts and Sciences, and Dr. Brett Parker, an Isothermal history instructor, addressed the students and the audience.

The organization’s supporting advisor is English instructor Erin Balmer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *